Knit Lit

I resolve to knit me skinny.

I’ve been blog stalking and have seen quite a few New Years resolution lists. It got me to thinking about why people make resolution and don’t stick with them. I think it all comes down to honesty. People are not honest with themselves. They make resolutions to based on the person they think they are not who they actually are really.

I am including myself in this group. A couple of years ago I wanted to loose weight, so my resolution was to cut out fast food, cook dinner at home every night, get up early to exercise, and only drink water. Yeah, that lasted all of 1 week. Why? Fast food is easy; I hate to cook; I am not a morning person; and I was raised in the South on sweet tea. I was doomed to fail. That is why my New Years resolution is not to make a New Years resolution. Instead I want to make life changes with no pressure. If I don’t get it right the first time, I don’t have to wait until next year. I will not judge myself, and I will do it when I do it.

Having said all that…my family started up a Biggest Loser competition. Complete with grand prize. Now, this is not a resolution. It just happens to coincide with me being fed up with myself. It all started when I started knitting my first sweater, the Puff Sleeve Cardigan from Fitted Knits (by Stephanie Japel). I was knitting along and realized that I didn’t have enough yarn. Now, I know this can happen to anyone, but it hit me. I was having to buy more yarn to make a sweater big enough for me. Now, I’m not that big, and I love to buy yarn (ya’ll know), but I don’t want to have to buy more yarn to make a bigger sweater! I want yarn left over to make a kicky beret that matches my sweater.

So, this is when I decided to make better choices: grilled chicken over fried, carrots over chips, and yogurt over cookies. I will drink more water, but I can’t give up my Diet Coke. I bought a treadmill. It will be here in a couple of weeks. (I got it 50% from Sears, so I am willing to wait for it.) I will walk while watching television at night. Small adaptations in my life. That I can do.

This family competition is great. We can support each other. It is a bonding experience. We will all be losing weight and getting into shape. Even the prize money is a good motivation. The best part of all is being able to write down on my exercise chart…..

Knitting – 1 hour – 130 calories burned.

To my family – I told you knitting was good exercise! Oh, yeah!

January 4, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

