Knit Lit

The one where I reflect on 2010

It is done.

This year has brought really good things for me.  It brought me a little understanding about who I am and what I want from life.    It gave me the courage of putting aside a really bad job that made me good money and ask for a really great job that allows me to get by.  While very, very scary, it was the best thing that ever happened to me.  I now look forward to going to work.  I don’t want to leave at the end of the day.  To me, that is a really good feeling.

This year has brought me closer to my husband and son.  It is nice to settle into a good and easy place.  I’m hoping 2011 will bring me more of the same.

I read on someone’s blog (Dang, I’ve already forgotten where.) that she does not make resolutions.  Instead she has hopes and goals for the year.  I like that.  There is an inherent sense of failure when you use the word ‘resolution.’  Setting goals seems to allow you a sense of positive beginnings.  So, in that thread, I would like to share some hopes I have for 2011.

  1. I want to be more present in this space.
  2. I want to design my own knitwear.
  3. I want to back off from adding to the yarn stash.
  4. I want to finish my Christmas knits early.
  5. I want to grow my sewing skills to include garment making.
  6. I want to be kinder to my body (aka eat better & exercise more).
  7. I want to learn to make bread, by hand and machine.
  8. I want to make a quilt for my bed.
  9. I want to perfect my yogurt making skills.
  10. I want to convert the room downstairs into a true yarn/sewing studio.
  11. I want to journal according to this book.  (I know this one sounds a little odd, but this author makes you feels like your life, whoever you are, is important.

So, that’s it.  Those are my goals for this year.  I hope I will continue to grow in myself as a person.  I hope I will continue to grow in my marriage and as a mother.

I hope you find all you need, whatever that is, to make your life good.  Happy New Year!

December 31, 2010 - Posted by | Events, Holiday, Random

1 Comment »

  1. A very Happy New Year to you and yours. =)

    Comment by Bubblesknits | January 1, 2011


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

