Knit Lit

Hello

I know it has been a long time since I posted.  I know that everyone who used to read this blog is probably long gone.  However, for those of you who are left, I wanted to explain my absence.  When I started this blog, I was in the grips of becoming a full-fledged Knitter. I was making the transformation from knitting as a cute little hobby to knitting as a character trait I use to describe myself.  During this transformation, I discovered there were lots of people out there who loved knitting as much as I do.  I thought having a blog would be a wonderful way to connect with these people.  It became a fun way to share my passion.  Let’s face it; there are few spouses out there who are willing to discuss the pros and cons of working in the round versus knitting flat.   However, on the internet, there is ample opportunity!  I was so excited to embark on this new world.

At first it was fun, but it soon became a chore.  I didn’t really have anything to say, but I thought I “should.”  (I hate that word by the way.)  It started to feel like all I was doing was complaining.  I didn’t want to be one of those people who see the negative in everything.  And seeing as this is exactly how my nature trends to, I find it difficult to be positive in real life much less on a blog.  I thought it would be better not to post than to continue a litany of rants and aggravations.  So, I stopped posting for a little bit. That “little bit” turned into quite awhile. 

Today I was reading another blog.  She and her family have been having difficulties.  Apparently, they are not life threatening  in any way, but still difficulties nonetheless.  She described it as “life.”  I like that term.  Life happens.  Nobody’s life is perfect.  Things happen.  I started thinking about that one too.  I seem to handle bigger life events better than little ones.  Having a baby, geting divorced, getting married, moving – I think I handled all that like a champ.  There was a beginning, a middle and an end to each of those events.  Yes, there were strong feelings associated with each, but I knew where I was headed.  (Though with Boy Child, I’m a little scared about where we are headed sometimes. Hee.)

Now that Hubby and I have settled into our lives and made it past the first little bit of figuring out how to live together, I am so happy.  Boy child is in a really good school he likes.  I love Hubby more everyday.  I have a good job and even got a raise.  Hubby has a good job.  We have a lovely home.  Yes, life happens, but things are great.  Here is where the negativity tendencies in my personalities come into play.  Without a major event happening in my life for me to focus on, I let “life” get me down.  I let other people’s neuroses affect my own.  I’m letting other people make me unhappy.  How absurd is that?!?!  I am letting myself be unhappy.   Not anymore.

I want to make a change, and I think coming back to the blogosphere may help.  I want to be able to see all the good things in my life.  That is a little hard to do when all you can see is the frustration.  If, however, I have to post about all my good fortune, I’ll have to look for it.  So, that is my plan. I’m hoping that posting = seeing the good things in life.  I’m crossing my fingers it will work.  Can you cross your fingers, too?

July 15, 2010 - Posted by | Blessings, Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. I’m still here! :) Glad everything is going well for you.

    Comment by Bubblesknits | July 15, 2010

  2. Got all my fingers and toes crossed. I’ve missed your blogs, can’t wait to hear about all the blessings in your life.
    You ROCK and so does everything you do!
    Grab life by the kahoonas and take charge!

    Comment by cashmereandchocolatecake | July 17, 2010

  3. About damn time and congrats on the rise?

    “I have a good job and even got a rise.”

    Comment by PapaBuck | July 20, 2010


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

