Knit Lit

The Good, The Bad, and The Rest

The Good

I am kicking along on my Trina cardigan.  I’m using the yarn I used on my first Lady February sweater attempt.  It is such a lovely green.  I’m happy I found a pattern I will complete.  I have finished the body section.  I am almost finished with the first sleeve.  Once I finish the second, I will attach them all and finish up the yoke.  I am using the frogged yarn on the sleeves and am finding my stitches uneven.  I know this is due to the fact that I let the yarn sit in a half finished sweater for an entire year without rehanking.  I also know I should have washed and dried it first, but I’m way too impatient for that.  I’m hoping it will smooth out in the final block.  It’s 100% wool, so I’m not worried.

The Bad

I really dislike dealing with any corporate institution.  Whenever you call the 1-800 number, you are generally speaking with someone with no power who handles people’s complaints all day long.  Even when you are nice and polite, rarely do they seem to work up the energy to even pretend like they care about your problem.  I found a charge on my account that should not be there. I called customer service twice.  Neither person I talked with was very helpful with their suggestions.  They advised me they could not really do anything for me until tomorrow.  Now, I know I could have pushed and asked for a manager; but honestly, I really don’t feel like dealing with the hassle.  I think I’ll give them until tomorrow and call back.  I have followed their “suggestion,” and they will fix it by tomorrow.  End of story.

I will impart some free advice about your money.  I have experience researching stolen credit cards, check cards, debit cards and checks.  I have picked up some ways to keep your money safer.  Note, I did not say completely safe.  I believe these things will cut down your risk; however, there is always a chance something will happen.  Also, if for some reason someone does gets access to your cards/checks, it may cut down on the time it takes to straighten everything out.

1.     If you use checks, only put your first and last name on your check.  However, when you sign, sign with the initial.  For Example:

blank-check

The thief looks at the name on the check to determine how he/she should sign it.  If there is no indication of an initial, they leave it out.  Or, if you normally sign without an initial, place one on your check.  This allows you and your bank to distinguish quickly the difference in signatures.

2.     Do not make online purchases with your debit card.  This leaves you open for a thief to wipe out your account.  There is more protection with a credit card.  Most banks carry a credit card’s emblem on check cards and claim the same protection; but I would rather be safe than sorry.

Right now, I have an unauthorized charge on my account.  When the customer service rep suggested I may have made an online purchase, I was able to quickly tell him my check card is not used for online purchases.  Period.  I always use a credit card.

3.   Check your accounts frequently.  Keep up with what is going on with your money.

Even with any and all precautions, things happen.  People make mistakes.  It is understandable.  The frustration comes with having to deal with so much red tape to get it fixed.  Sigh.

The Belated

I totally admit that I have been a lame friend.  Mrs. S came into town last Saturday.  All of last week, I failed to blog about how wonderful our visit was.  We went to several yarn shops.  Mrs. S gifted me with a hank of Laural in color way Catherine the Great.   I think it is destined to become a beautiful summer shawl.  I have not found the perfect one yet, but I’m sure it is out there somewhere.  We went clothes shopping and had lunch at The Cheesecake Factory.  Both are extra special to me because I LOVE both and rarely have anyone to share them.  It was a full exciting day and I can not adequately describe how exciting it is to find a friend you can have so much fun with.  Oh! And she gave me a hand knit sweater, too!  I couldn’t believe it.  She knit a lovely linen sweater for herself.  She brought it over to show it off.  When it ended up looking better on me, she said take it!  Yum!  I wore it the next day to church. Love! Unfortunately, temperatures have surpassed 90º F, so sweaters were put away for awhile. Thanks Mrs. S!

The Best

I ordered myself a brand new sewing machine this weekend.  I decided on the Brother CS-6000i. Thanks to credit card rewards points and Amazon’s free shipping, I was able to get it for $19.95!  I could not believe it!  I am so excited I can’t stand it.  It has the ability for free hand quilting.  This is something I have wanted to try it for weeks, but my current machine can’t handle it.  I want to sew something in the worst way!  My plan was to hank quilt my first quilt for the decorative stitching on the back.  I think I may try to use the free hand leg to outline the patterns.  I hope it will work because knitting has taken over my time.

The Relief

I ran into my LYS this Saturday.  We were nearby having lunch, so I decided to pop in.  I picked up a pair of needles I needed for the sleeves of my Trina cardigan.  I also picked up a pattern that will allow me to reclaim my yarn from the tragic London Calling jacket.  If you remember, I was getting 11.5 sts per 4”.  Well, it has been difficult to find an attractive pattern that fits that gauge.  While the one I found is not perfect, it is close enough that I snatched it up right quick.

sidecar_jacket_detail

Ta dah!  The Sidecar Jacket from Spud and Chloe!  This will be cast on soon.  Since Trina is knitting up so quickly, I think I can squeeze Sidecar out by the end of August.  I will finish up my lingering Sweet Pea jacket, and I will be ahead of the game.  I may attempt the Uptown/Downtown jacket before Rhinebeck; but now that school is starting, I hear the call of Christmas knits.

The Tiring

Our state has a tax free weekend right before school starts every year.  This allows parents to purchase clothing, books and school supplies without paying sales tax.  Let me tell you!  It is tiring to be out in the Alabama summer heat with thousands of other people buying stuff.  Boy Child was a trouper, though.  He tried on endless pants, jeans, shirts and shoes without complaint.  He even let me peruse stuff for myself.   We had lunch together.  Over all it was a great time.  I can’t get over how much I enjoy his company.  He really is growing up and can hold interesting, funny and intelligent conversations.  I had the best time!  Though I will admit he faired better than his mom.  I was pooped after day one, not to mention day two!  Luckily, Hubby did not get called away for day two, so we had some company.

The Internets

These are things I have seen/read/found in the past couple of days that I think are cool/neat/amazing.

1.     From Glenna How awesome is it to meet someone who invented something so prevalent in your life?!?  No words!

2.     Congratulations Stefanie!

3.    I’ve been wearing Alima Pure mineral make-up for about 6 months now.  I can’t tell you how much I love it. You should try it.  They let you order small samples, so there is no big investment if it doesn’t work out.  As much as I wanted to love BareMinerals, they irritated my skin.  This foundation does not.  I also believe it is a factor in the clearing of my skin.

4.     I really want to see this movie.

5.    I found a GREAT quilt binding tutorial.   I seriously can not wait to try this one with my new machine.

6.    Brooklyn Tweed has a new book.  While I normally love everything he does, I wasn’t feeling anything in this one.  Except for the lace. I really like the lace.

The End

August 10, 2009 - Posted by | Bloggers, Boy Child, Friends, Knitters, Knitting, Sewing, Yarn

3 Comments »

  1. Love the Sidecar jacket. And thank you, too, for the link to Alima Pure. I’m another one that the BareMinerals breaks out. I had so many friends talk about how gentle it was, but not on my skin.

    Comment by Bubblesknits | August 10, 2009

  2. What a SWEET deal on the sewing machine!!! I can’t wait to see what new treasures you whip up on that thing.

    I really really really like the sidecar jacket. I may need to borrow that pattern. I’m 3/4 up the back on the one I’m doing for Rhinebech (sp?). I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to be able to do the Uptown Downtown. It is one of the most beautiful patterns I’ve seen.

    Great post, btw!!

    Comment by Mom (Better known as Nana) | August 13, 2009

  3. Thanks for the congrats! :)

    Comment by stefanie | August 16, 2009


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

